Informational Site NetworkInformational Site Network
- Home - - Mind Reading - - The Mind -

The Stages Of Hypnotism

Lethargy--Catalepsy--The Somnambulistic Stage--Fascination.

We have just given some of the amusing experiments that may be performed
with subjects in one of the minor stages of hypnotism. But there are
other stages which give entirely different manifestations. For a
scientific classification of these we are indebted to Professor Charcot,
of the Salpetriere hospital in Paris, to whom, next to Mesmer and Braid,
we are indebted for the present science of hypnotism. He recognized
three distinct stages--lethargy, catalepsy and somnambulism. There is
also a condition of extreme lethargy, a sort of trance state, that lasts
for days and even weeks, and, indeed, has been known to last for years.
There is also a lighter phase than somnambulism, that is called
fascination. Some doctors, however, place it between catalepsy and
somnambulism. Each of these stages is marked by quite distinct
phenomena. We give them as described by a pupil of Dr. Charcot.

Next: Lethargy

Previous: Amusing Experiments

Add to Add to Reddit Add to Digg Add to Add to Google Add to Twitter Add to Stumble Upon
Add to Informational Site Network

Viewed 7613